Tags

, , , , ,

Recently a baby was born in my son-in-law’s family. His hair is the color of a raven’s wing. His eyes are dark and filled with intelligence and curiosity. In a picture of him, I saw a smile start to curve around his mouth. He is beautiful.

When my son was born, I wrote a poem in celebration of his coming. I do so now with this little one. I celebrate his existence. I celebrate the man he will become. This poem is for him, his parents, his grandmother, and his great-uncle Jim.

I CELEBRATE

I celebrate your coming.

The birth of your great soul.

Your life is just beginning,

And I know you have a role

To play in making this world

A better place to live.

There’s so much inside you

And one day you will give

The love inside your dear heart

And you will be true

To the Great God that sent you

To do His blessed will.

So lay your head down softly,

And lie there very still.

Rest, rest sweet baby

Through the coming night

And eagerly look forward

To the morning light.

Sara Longfellow.

 

Nature-ocean-sun-rising by Alonzo-Guerrero. Found on Google+ on 12-30-14.

Nature-ocean-sun-rising by Alonzo-Guerrero. Found on Google+ on 12-30-14.

 

