Tags

, , , ,

There is a poem written by William L. Stidger that I have always liked. It’s title is,” I Saw God Wash The World.”

Found on Google+  on 3-20-15. El Pendulo. Jorge Gonzalez-Herrera Photography.

Found on Google+ on 3-20-15. El Pendulo. Jorge
Gonzalez-Herrera Photography.

It has five stanzas. I  want to share three of them today. For some reason, deep inside of me there resides a strong desire to stand before God being the best I can be. I know He accepts us with all of our imperfections. He accepts me just as I am. But I still want to honor Him by standing clean before Him. These stanzas remind me of that desire.  Yu/stan/kema.

I SAW GOD WASH THE WORLD

I saw God wash the world last night

With His sweet showers on high,

And then, when morning came, I saw

Him hang it out to dry.

He washed each tiny blade of grass

And every trembling tree;

He flung his showers against the hill,

And swept the billowing sea.

………………………………………………

……………………………………………..

I saw God wash the world last night.

Ah, would He had washed me

As clean of all my dust and dirt

As that old white birch tree.

William L. Stidger

