Tags

, , , , , ,

 

Found on Pinterest on 11-16-15. Gary Zukav.

Found on Pinterest on 11-16-15. Gary Zukav.

There are so many places in the New Testament where Christ spoke of giving, and many passages which tell stories of Him giving of his time, his energy, food, and many other things to people He did not know. A lot of the people He gave to were looked down upon in society. He treated every one with respect and dignity.

The day after Paris had been bombed, and people shot and killed by terrorists, I was making a mad dash to the grocery store before attending an appointment. Near the entrance into the store, I noticed a woman with children standing  to the side of the building. She was holding a sign in her hands. It was cool and  rain was falling. The children were holding on to her legs , but I was in a hurry and didn’t want to be late for my appointment. I could tell at a glance she was from some Mid Eastern country and she wore a scarf on her head. Others heading in to the store avoided her.

I took one-step inside and stopped. I felt compelled to go back out and read the sign. It said,” I just lost my job. I need help.” I looked up and met her eyes. There was desperation, pride, and need in them. She was a mother and was trying to take care of her children. I rarely give money to people on the street. But that day, I pulled out what money I had and gave it to her. She thanked me, and I left. I knew in the moment her eyes met mine, we had an understanding. We were both mothers, and children had to be fed.  I don’t regret what I did. I did get some hard looks from people who had seen the transaction. They were angry I had stopped to help her.

Yu/stan/kema

 

FATE

Two shall be born, the whole wide world apart,

And speak in different tongues and have no thought

Each of the other’s being, and no heed;

And these, o’er unknown seas, to unknown lands

Shall cross, escaping wreck, defying death;

And all unconsciously shape every act

And bend each wandering step to this one end

That one day out of darkness they shall meet

And read life’s meaning in each other’s eyes.

……………………………………………………………..

………………………………………………………………

SUSAN MARR SPALDING

 

 

