Tags

, , , , , , ,

SOLITUDE

I sit alone by the window

And look out into the night.

I wonder what you could be doing

Under the same star light.

 

Once we had sat together.

We talked about problems we had.

Found on Pinterest on 11-7-15. Tom Mumford. Photosoftheday. Watkins Glen State Park.

Found on Pinterest on 11-7-15. Tom Mumford. Photosoftheday. Watkins Glen State Park.

Our words took away our worries.

Nothing could make us sad.

 

Away to the trees and the river,

We sat on the rock by the Falls.

We watched the flow of the water

And listened to lovely bird calls.

 

Holding our breath in such wonder,

We explored this special place.

Joy we shared with each other.

Here souls could meet face to face

 

With God’s wondrous creation.

We laughed the days away.

We had so much fun in sharing,

Wild flowers in the month of May.

 

Those were the days of our childhood

When we laughed and cried in the rain.

We became closer than brothers.

As one we would taste of pain.

 

Promises we made to each other,

A  contract made with the heart.

Friends we would be forever.

Nothing could tear us apart.

 

You left and miles came between us.

I wrote you letters by hand.

You rarely wrote me a word.

I could not understand.

 

I kept reaching out like a child,

For my good and faithful friend.

I knew you would always be there.

Our friendship could not end.

 

A contract, a promise was broken.

A child’s faith torn in two.

The days seemed to pass so slowly.

There was nothing a child could do.

 

Summer was slowly ending,

And Autumn was on the wing.

The child was no longer crying

For promises made in the spring.

 

Years later, I saw you in August.

As strangers, we met again.

My heart tore down the barrier.

I wanted  to be your friend.

 

Still, the miles are between us.

Found on Pinterest on 1-9-16.  Lisa. The path less taken.

Found on Pinterest on 1-9-16. Lisa. The path less taken.

Things are not the same.

You don’t want to be here.

Softly, I speak your name.

 

I sit alone by the river.

Oh, the fun we once had,

When you and I were friends

And nothing could make us sad.

Yu/stan/kema

 

 

