I read this the other day and it reminded me why protecting the environment is so important. The wild places provide a sanctuary for some, a church for others, and it is a place where character can be developed. It is a place where children can go and find endless delight.

REFLECTIONS OF A MINDFUL HEART AND SOUL

When I was young and full of vim and vigor, I hiked the trails like a pro. I was strong, muscular, and trim and moved through the forest on the balls of my feet and not a leaf rustled in the underbrush. I had spent years perfecting my quiet stride. I have pictures of me walking right up to deer in the forest and a flying squirrel once landed beside me in the mountains of New Jersey where I spent five summers at a camp for disadvantaged children. It was the experience of a lifetime. I learned to cook there, build shelters out of saplings and binder’s twine, and I learned to name birds by their size, color, and bird song. I learned a lot about trees, how to build fires the old way with flint and steel. Those were some of the best times of my life. I never…

View original post 386 more words

