Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I can see the storm coming

From far away in the distance.                             

Found on Pinterest on 2-11-17. Lavender Field Storms by Antony Zacharias. Theenchantedwind.tumblr.

Found on Pinterest on 2-11-17. Lavender Field Storms by Antony Zacharias. Theenchantedwind.tumblr.com

The wind changes direction

And it increases in intensity.

The air has the feel of an electrical

Charge to it and my hair stands

Up on my forearms.

I know I should seek shelter,

Go to a place of safety,

But I don’t go.

I am mesmerized by the storm.

The clouds turn from gray 

To a dark blue-black color.

Some clouds billow up 

Like white cotton candy.

The wind picks up leaves

And tosses them into the air.

I watch the wind currents 

Carry them for a short while.

I smell moist dirt in the wind.

The trees bend and sway

In rhythm to the storm that

Rages inside my own heart.                           

Found on Pinterest on 6-22-16,

Found on Pinterest on 6-22-16, Saved from flickr.com

I feel alive out here in the storm.

I am no longer numb and

Unresponsive to the images,

Sounds, and sensations that float

To the surface of my awareness,

Having been pulled from the

Recesses of long repressed,

Bitter memories.

The storm within unites

With the storm without.

Both rage until their energy

Is spent.

Rest is needed, and

The realization hits: 

That despite life’s storms,

Life still goes on.

Yu/stan/kema.

 

