Tags

, , , , ,

 

Found on Pinterest on 8-13-17. Children. Cristen Rogers. s-media-cache-ak0.pinimg.com.

THE HEART OF A CHILD

When my son was born, many years ago, it was one of the happiest days of my life. I loved his dark hair, his tiny toes and fingers, his mouth that was no bigger than a cheerio. God entrusted me with his care which was a serious matter to me.

As he grew older, he was alert, curious, and loved to create things with his hands. I gave him all kinds of paper, fabric, materials from nature, scissors, pencils, and glue. I was fascinated by the things he made when he  was two.

By the time he was three, he planted seeds outdoors  and watched his plants grow. We’d go to parks, lakes, and mountains, and he learned the names of trees, flowers, and bushes. We chased butterflies, observed bugs, and raised vegetables. He made a bog, reading books on how to do it. He planted bog plants and grew Lotus flowers the size of his dad’s hand. They were beautiful.

I loved watching his face light up, and his eagerness to experience the magic and wonder in nature. I never got tired of spending time with him. I enjoyed being a part of his life.

Children are special creatures. They laugh, giggle, and cry in the space of a minute. They love unconditionally. They believe in fairness, and like taking risks in life.

Where ever I go, I enjoy watching babies. I smile and they smile back, as I play peek-a-boo with them. I strike up conversations when I see a child smiling at me. Children tell such funny stories.

I love the poems of Cristen Rogers. She captures the magic of children in a poem she wrote. I’ve included it in my blog. Enjoy.

Yu/stan/kema.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

